Photo

Steam?

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Hornet

Posted 07 April 2007 - 11:36 AM

Hey guys, I just purchased my combined copy of CS:S, DoD:S and Half Life. I'm rdy to install but what do I do about a steam account? Does it inquire that I make one when I install or do I need to go and manualy dl it? I'm a newb at this now so any help is appreciated, an explanation of steam would be nice too.

Thx,
Hornet

#2 Doc_UK

Posted 07 April 2007 - 12:06 PM

I did the same as you a couple of weeks ago.

During install it'll ask you to set up ya steam account. One good thing about steam is that your steam account allows you to download the game to any new PC you get anywhere, rather than you finding discs etc. I think you don't need disc in PC to play either. I'm sure a more experienced steam user will post more.

#3 mike080697

Posted 07 April 2007 - 12:29 PM

Yeah, Steam works great. I have 2 copies of those games you said you have, therefore 2 accounts. My 3 kids and I have it installed on 4 or 5 PC's. Any two of us can play at once on any of those PC's no disc required. We just log in on our account. Your in-game name can be different from you're account user ID. For example we have 3 different game names on my Steam ID. Does that make sense? Anyway it's nice not to have to find the game disc.

#4 Why Two Kay

Posted 07 April 2007 - 12:56 PM

You need an account. It's very useful, because it ties your cd-keys to the account. So you can physically lose the disks all you want, and you can still download a copy. It also auto-updates for you. You can play on as many computers as you want, even friends if they have the game, just login with your account and play.

Plus it bans hacker's entire accounts, meaning they are banned from all online games. Yay VAC (even if it is delayed 2 weeks!)

#5 Hornet

Posted 07 April 2007 - 05:03 PM

Sweet, cant wait to see ya guys playin cs:s and dod:s

#6 Fuel §

Posted 07 April 2007 - 05:06 PM