Photo

How to make BF1942 work with with windows 8.1

windows 8.1 crashes to desktop black screen direct x

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Hassan Zia

Posted 19 November 2015 - 01:14 PM

Hi all..

i've been playing this awesome game for many years, maybe many of you would have played with me (-=WenGerZ=- Hassan Zia) ,
but about 9 months ago i bought new hardware and upgraded to windows 8.1, and since then it's been impossible for me to play bf1942.

my problem is when i start  the game in full screen then it goes black and a few seconds later it crashed to desktop with an error sound in background (but i don't see any error msg).
and if i change display mode to windowed then an error msg appears on screen featuring "this game requires at least dx 8.1 or later and your direcx version is (i don't remember what version it stats, but it is like 11111111111111111)." and then it asks whether to ignore the error or abort. and if i chose ignore then i'm able to play it for time being but in windows mod only and that ain't any fun and more worse thing that even windows mod work only for first two times then nothing happens either..

i'm desperately waiting to get this thing fixed...

here are my specs:

Attached File  Screenshot_98.png   26.7KB   0 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot_99.png   22.29KB   0 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot_100.png   22.67KB   0 downloads

#2 shavo

Posted 19 November 2015 - 01:31 PM

Hi. Common problem. Please read:

http://www.moongamer...showtopic=64416

Also go in and remove update: kb3086255

Make sure your video card isnt set on high resolution to start. If it is the game crashed trying to play BF42 no matter what.

#3 Hassan Zia

Posted 20 November 2015 - 03:15 AM

Make sure your video card isnt set on high resolution to start. If it is the game crashed trying to play BF42 no matter what.

how to delete this update? as my updates aren't working since few months...