Photo

Difference between TDM and CQ?

• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 No One

Posted 23 March 2007 - 11:50 AM

Ok I'm being a total newbie here but whats the difference between TDM and CQ on the 1942 servers.

I'm guessing TDM is deathmatch and CQ is conquest but other than the names and the slight difference in rules whats the difference?

I've been playing on the TDM server but I haven't figured out how or if you actually win. Is there someone that could fill me in on this?

I've also noticed that sometimes there are airplanes and sometimes there are not and sometimes there are other maps playing. Could someone give a brief explaination?

Sorry for all the questions. Still trying to get things figured out.

Thanks!

#2 BrEEd

Posted 23 March 2007 - 12:02 PM

In TDM (Team Deathmatch), Allies start with the Beach and the Axis Main Base is non-capable (which I'm sure you've noticed. These games usually go on for a few hours because the tickets count up to 2700. In CQ (Conquest), the Allies have to storm the Beach and try to cap it. Both the Middle Base and Axis Main Base are capable, hence why it's the Allies job to push the Axis back. First team to reach 0 tickets loses.

No one really wins in TDM, players usually just try to obtain the highest score they can by the time the tickets reach 2700. We usually say whichever team reaches 2700 first is the winner, though.

Sometimes there are airplanes present because it is Mod Night. It usually takes place Saturday Night and proceeds into Sunday. We cycle through Berlin, Stalingrad, Market Garden, and Para Omaha (no explosives or fall damage, of course) and then usually move onto whatever map the players want. Para Omaha, by the way, is where there is a plane above Middle Flag for both teams and they can parachute down.

I'm not sure if you have TeamSpeak but it's definitely something you should take part in. If you have a mic it's all the better. If not, listening is perfectly acceptable.